Burning Bright Audiobook by E.J. Stevens (REVIEW)

Posted by on Feb 3, 2016 in Reviews | 38 comments

Review of: Burning Bright Audiobook
Audiobook:
E.J. Stevens

Reviewed by:
Rating:
4
On February 3, 2016
Last modified:February 3, 2016

Summary:

Burning Bright Audiobook

By: E.J. Stevens

Narrated by: Melanie A. Mason and David Wilson Brown

Published by: Sacred Oaks 10/20/2015

Burning Bright by E.J.Stevens

4 Hearts rating image Hot Listens

Ivy Granger #3

7 hrs and 32 mins

Genre: Urban fantasy

Burning Bright Audiobook Sample

Burning Bright Audiobook

4 Hearts

E.J. Stevens continues to pull us in with this wonderful world she has built in Harborsmouth. Ivy Granger is deep in the thick of things as she does her best to save the city and her friends while she proves that she is a great friend and a wonderful girlfriend.

The story starts off with Ivy’s best friend, Jinx, getting herself into a bit of trouble at the fae bar, Club Nexus. She wakes up the next morning with glowing lips all over her. Not only are these freaky, but they also seem to be draining her. Add to this issue, there are fire imps terrorizing the city.

Ivy calls in her lover Ceff, the king of the local Kelpies, to help with the fire imps, while Ivy tries to help Jinx. She has to go deal with the Green Lady who wants to call in a favor. Oh, then the vamps want to call in their favor too. Ivy’s witch friend, Kaye, seems to have disappeared, and she is desperately needed. Oh and Forneus, the demonic lawyer (which seems like an oxymoron to me, LOL), who also has a romantic interest in Jinx is trying to help solve the issue with Jinx.

In Burning Bright we got to see a lot of Ceff and Forneus. We also get to see a side of Forneus that we aren’t used to seeing. He was very caring and protective for Jinx. Jinx was out of it for most of the book, so we didn’t get to see much of her. I enjoyed the addition of Arachne, Kaye’s student witch to the story. I loved the addition of Sparky, a young demon even more. I can’t wait to see where the story goes with young Sparky. I thought he was adorable.

Poor, Ivy, she is put into some pretty tight situations in this story. Not only is she struggling with her powers, she also puts a lot on her shoulders. She pretty much tries to protect the city and takes that responsibility entirely on herself. Ivy has proven once again how great of character she is with how she continues to put the city and her friends in front of herself. If you’re looking for a urban fantasy series that is high action with a kick ass heroine, Ivy Granger is a great choice.

Burning Bright Narration

3 Hearts

I haven’t listened to a lot of stories with dual narrators. The ones that I have, it featured a different narrator for each chapter. This one the male narrator speaks anytime a male is voiced or thinks. The female narrator does the rest of the narration. It took me a while to get used to this type of narration. Both narrators were good, it was just a different style that I’m not used to. By the end of the book, I was pretty used to the back and forth between the two of them without issue. I’m not sure that it is something that I prefer, but I don’t think I would say that I dislike it either. I think with these two narrators, it is something that I could become accustom to.

E.J. Stevens is the author of the SPIRIT GUIDE young adult paranormal romance series, the HUNTERS’ GUILD urban fantasy series, and the award-winning IVY GRANGER urban fantasy series. She is known for filling pages with quirky characters, bloodsucking vampires, psychotic faeries, and snarky, kick-butt heroines.

When E.J. isn’t at her writing desk, she enjoys dancing along seaside cliffs, singing in graveyards, and sleeping in faerie circles. E.J. currently resides in a magical forest on the coast of Maine where she finds daily inspiration for her writing.

Facebook icontwittergoodreads

There has never been a moment when Melanie Mason wasn’t interested in telling a story, either one of hers or someone else’s. She is an accomplished Actor, Director, Audiobook Narrator and Voice-Over Artist. Her voice work includes Web Spokesperson, anime, commercial and film. She holds a BFA in Theatre Performance and an MS in Information Science, with a focus on Storytelling. She has been a University faculty member for over a decade teaching Communication Studies and Broadcast Communication.

Website  Audible Audiobooks

Actor, director, and audiobook narrator David Wilson-Brown has been a storyteller since he can remember. His numerous credits range from stage, to film, to voice-over work for numerous anime and live action projects. He received his B.F.A. in performance and his M.F.A. in acting.

IMDB Audible Audiobooks

Reviewed by:

ML Simmons Reviewer

  • 4
    editor rating
Melanie Simmons
I’m Melanie and I live in Ohio. I have two horses and a dog. I’m an animal lover, avid book reader and audiobook listener. I like to live vicariously through fictional characters. I enjoy reading and listening to mostly fictional books in the paranormal genre, including Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Romance and Horror. My favorite paranormal creatures are shifters, doesn’t matter the flavor.

    38 Comments

  1. I enjoyed the first one so I will be continuing the series. I have never listened to one quite like that–is this the first one with two (book 1 didn’t have two). Great review and glad the series is still strong.

    • I really liked Traci Odom. She does the first two books and one of the novellas. This pair does the Christmas novella and then this book. I liked these two narrators. I thought they did a good job, just the format was different and hard for me to get used to at first. I am enjoying the series, so I can’t wait to see where it goes next.
      Melanie Simmons recently posted…New Audiobooks for February 2016My Profile

  2. The narration would throw me off a bit too. I have book one (in ebook) of this series, need to get around to reading it! πŸ˜€
    lilyelement recently posted…WoW [194] – The HuntMy Profile

  3. I read this one in ebook. It was a series I felt got better and better as I got into it. I loved the demons. Sparky and Forneus are amazing πŸ™‚

  4. I usually like dual narrations, but one thing that drives me nuts it when they do the voice for the other, it gets weird. I tried one book by this author about six years ago, and It wasn’t for me. Maybe I need to give this one a go.

  5. Oh I like the sound of this one. I am also curious about that narration. I wonder if I’d like it. I had dual narrators who did the whole chapter (male/female) voices when it came to that character’s POV. Took me a while to get used to it and when I did, I enjoyed it.
    Melissa (Books and Things) recently posted…Resolution by J. S. CooperMy Profile

    • This is a really fun series. I hope you get a chance to try it. Before this series, I had not listened to a dual narration like this before either. It was always chapter by chapter and even that was rare. I hope you get a chance to try it. The first two books in this series are done by a different narrator. This is the first full length book by this narrating team.
      Melanie Simmons recently posted…New Audiobooks for February 2016My Profile

  6. Thanks Melanie, great review. I haven’t experienced a narration like this either.

  7. I haven’t heard of this series before, it sounds like a fun and original series. Those glowing lips she got all over her body do sound creepy and make me curious how she got them and how she will solve it.
    That does sound different how the narration is done with a female voicing the female parts and a male voicing the male parts. It sounds interesting, but also like the constant switches take some getting used to. Great review!
    Lola recently posted…Product Review: Baker’s Secret Measuring SpoonsMy Profile

    • Thanks Lola. It is a fun UF series. I do recommend starting with book one. Ivy and her best friend Jinx are a great pair as they solve paranormal crimes.
      Melanie Simmons recently posted…New Audiobooks for February 2016My Profile

  8. This is a series I keep meaning to pick up, Melanie. Maybe I’ll try it in audio. I love Stevens’ worldbuilding (I’ve read Hunting in Bruges) and her characters are great. I’m not sure of the way this is narrated but I’d still like to give it a try. I’m glad you enjoyed this installment. I look forward to meeting Ivy. πŸ™‚

    • Hunting in Bruges is a series that I want to try. I believe it takes place in Harborsmouth, just like Ivy Granger. The first two books are narrated solely by Traci Odom, who I love. I knew her before this series. This is the first time listening to these two (they did a novella in this series that I listened to before, but it was short). I hope you try this series and enjoy it.
      Melanie Simmons recently posted…New Audiobooks for February 2016My Profile

  9. I just read your review and bought book #1, it’s free on Amazon πŸ˜€

  10. I haven’t read any E.J. Stevens books, Melanie, but I do enjoy UF, so I’ll be sure to add this series to my TBR. I will probably read it though, rather than listen to it – I read much faster on my own πŸ˜‰
    Lexxie recently posted…The Sunday Post #69 –My Profile

  11. I just added Shadow Sight to my TBR in Goodreads and I’m going to go grab it on Amazon but I got sidetracked by Alec Baldwin’s commercial with Missy Elliot and Jason Schwartzman and I could have been there all day clicking so… yeah…

    Your review makes this sound just like Kalayna’s series so I think I’ll like it πŸ™‚ Great review!!!

  12. I’ve read a few books with dual narration, it can be trickier to pull off without confusing the reader, I think. I would prefer an AWESOME narration from one narrator than just an “okay” performance by two or more. I haven’t ever heard of this series before but it sounds fascinating. Poor jinx and those freaky glowing lips! o.O

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Sunday post #64 : The final post - […] Β Because I read Melanie’s review […]

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CommentLuv badge