Consumed Audiobook by Rebecca Zanetti (REVIEW)

Posted by on Mar 11, 2016 in Reviews | 33 comments

Review of: Consumed Audiobook
Audiobook:
Rebecca Zannetti

Reviewed by:
Rating:
3.5
On March 11, 2016
Last modified:May 22, 2016

Summary:

Consumed Audiobook

By: Rebecca Zanetti

Narrated by: Karen White

Published by: Audible Studios 05/20/2015

Consumed Audiobook by Rebecca Zanetti

3.5 Hearts Rating Image- Hot Listens

Dark Protectors #4

10 hrs and 40 mins

Paranormal Romance

Consumed Audiobook Sample

Consumed Audiobook

3.5 Hearts

In this fourth installment of the Dark Protectors series, we switch from the vampires to the shifters. Jordan and Katie have been a part of the story since book one, but now they finally get their own story. Consumed also takes place ten years into the future from the previous story. The Realm is in the middle of their war with the Kurjans and their virus which is turning vampire mates back to humans, keeping female shifters from shifting and worst most of all turning male shifters into mindless werewovles (not just humans who shift into wolves, but something much, much worse. They call wolf shifters just that, not werewolves).

Katie and Jordan have known each other since Katie was a small child of about 5. He rescued her from a horrible situation and took her in and raised her as part of his pack. As she grew he was never able to see her as anything more than the child he rescued.

Katie has had a crush on Jordan since forever. He was her savior. She knew they were meant to be together, if he could just see that she isn’t a little girl any more. When she is infected with the virus and is better able to track the werewolves, she sets off with a team to get away from her childhood crush and spends ten years tracking and killing the beasts. That is until she learns that Jordan is infected himself and he has only until the next full moon before he becomes one of the beasts that she will be hunting.

With Jordan’s infection, that puts a ton of pressure on the royal vampire family, the Kayrs from the first three books, to find a cure and fast. They only have days before they lose their good friend and ally in Jordan. We even learn that one of the Kayrs brother has done more than we ever thought to help Jordan in his past and he rose to become the Pride leader in a way that wasn’t all that pretty.

There is also a second storyline with Janie, who has also done some growing in the past ten years. She is now a teenager and all that comes with that. She has a little brother who is protective. She is trying her hand at dating and neither her brother, her father or uncles are happy about it. Then there are the boys from her dreams, literally, Zane and Kalin.

There are some other pieces that are still not resolved yet. The wolf, Maggie, and, Bane Council wolf Terrent who wants to take her from the Kayrs brothers. Jase is still missing with the demons. I enjoyed seeing some of the couples from previous books along.

This book was full of action. I once again enjoyed the overall story arc over the romance, but then that is a normal thing for me. I did enjoy learning more about Katie and Jordan’s past and seeing them come together. But I mostly enjoyed seeing the overall progression of the war and the development of the world and the characters as a whole.

Consumed Audiobook Narration

4.5 Hearts

Karen White did a great job with the narration of this book. While there was nothing in this book that stood out, like in the previous book with a ton of the Irish brogue, I can’t downplay how much I enjoy listening to her narration of this series. I will mention that I did notice a difference in Janie’s voice. She did take into account the 10 year difference in the girl’s voice. She still had a sweetness to it, but not that of a toddler, but that of teenager that has that really sweet girly voice. I thought it fit the description that was given to the ultra petite Janie.

Rebecca Zanetti

Rebecca Zanetti

Growing up amid the glorious backdrops and winter wonderlands of the Pacific Northwest has given Rebecca fantastic scenery and adventures to weave into her stories. She resides there with her husband, children and extended family who inspire her every day. Rebecca has completed several manuscripts, winning award throughout the writing industry for her work. She currently writes the Dark Protector series for Kensington Publishing, the Maverick Montana series for Entangled Publishing, and the Sin Brothers series for Grand Central Publishing.

Facebook icontwittergoodreads

Narrator Karen White

Narrator Karen White

Karen White is a classically trained actress who has been recording audio books since 1999 and has well over 150 books to her credit and is a proud member of SAG-AFTRA. Honored to be included in Audiofile’s Best Voices 2010 and 2011, she’s also an Audie Finalist and Best Audiobook of the Year winner for 2009, 2010 and 2011 (The Hemingses of Monticello by Annette Gordon Reed, Too Good to be True by Erin Arvedlund, and Everything That Rises Must Converge by Flannery O’Connor) and she has earned multiple Audiofile Earphones Awards.

Audiobooks Twitter

I like to thank Audible Studios for providing me with a copy of this audiobook in exchange for an honest review.

Reviewed by:

ML Simmons Reviewer

  • 3.5
    editor rating
Melanie Simmons
I’m Melanie and I live in Ohio. I have two horses and a dog. I’m an animal lover, avid book reader and audiobook listener. I like to live vicariously through fictional characters. I enjoy reading and listening to mostly fictional books in the paranormal genre, including Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Romance and Horror. My favorite paranormal creatures are shifters, doesn’t matter the flavor.

    33 Comments

  1. I’ve read the first one or two in this series but I read them back in – oh, I don’t know, maybe 2009 or 2010? I remember really liking Zanetti’s vampire mythology though. But, as happens, I got interested in other series and behind in this one while waiting on the next book to release. Seeing as you gave the narration a 4.5, I may start over and listen to this series. Have they all been good listens? Anyway, this installment sounds action-packed and it makes me eager to return to the series. 🙂

    • I loved the vampire stories, but I’m glad there was the switch to shifters here. I’ve been a bigger fan of shifters for as long as I can remember. I don’t know how many books are vampire and how many are shifter, but I’ve enjoyed them all so far.
      Melanie Simmons recently posted…Bitter Bite Audiobook by Jennifer Estep (REVIEW)My Profile

    • The shifters were part of the series from the beginning, but as secondary characters. I think it was just time to move away from the first three brothers and give some others their own books. I love both. I like that the series is mixed.
      Melanie Simmons recently posted…Bitter Bite Audiobook by Jennifer Estep (REVIEW)My Profile

  2. You mentioned you liked the Sin Brothers series a bit better than this one, huh? I haven’t read Zanetti yet, either but I see her all over in friend’s shelves so I can assume she’s pretty good. I’ll have to make a shelf with your name on it GR for all the books I’m adding b/c of you 😉

    • They are both great series, but that is just my personal opinion. I just really liked the brothers. That series will be easier for people who are just looking to try Zanetti too, because there are only four books, as opposed to this series that has several more, plus novellas.

      I’m getting to where I put in the recommendations from where I read the review hoping that will help me pick books in the future and remember so I can credit the recommendation when I do read it. LOL
      Melanie Simmons recently posted…Bitter Bite Audiobook by Jennifer Estep (REVIEW)My Profile

  3. I just started her new series The Scorpius Syndrome #1 and really enjoyed book one. I will keep this and the Sin brothers in mind

  4. That fun those two characters who have been part of the series so far finally get their chance in the spotlight and you get to read their story. I like both vampires and shifters, or books with both of them. That virus sounds pretty horrid. Seeing the overall story progress and develop is one of my favourite things about series. Great review!
    Lola recently posted…Sunday Post #169My Profile

    • Thanks Lola. The thing I love most about PNR is getting that closer look to characters that have been part of the story. It isn’t so much the romance as the overall story and the closer look at each character and usually their pasts.
      Melanie Simmons recently posted…Bitter Bite Audiobook by Jennifer Estep (REVIEW)My Profile

  5. I’ve heard a lot about this author, thanks for the great review Melanie 🙂

  6. Now you have me curious as to whether or not Katie and Jordan will get together after all that.

  7. This sounds like an intricate world with a lot going on. Glad you liked it even with the jump into the future and such. It definitely sounds like a really interesting series!

  8. I need to hurry up and get the Sin Brothers series you recommended to me last time you reviewed a book in this series @_@
    LilyElement recently posted…New Releases 03/15/2016My Profile

  9. When you guys review and love her book, I feel so left out only because my first foray into her world didn’t work well. Maybe after a while, I’ll try her again.

    • Not every book/author is for everyone. I didn’t like Harry Potter. I tried it a couple of times. I didn’t like Sookie Stackhouse. I don’t know which books you tried, but I recommend the Sin Brothers series. It has been my favorite so far, if you decide to try again.
      Melanie Simmons recently posted…Magic Stars Audiobook by Ilona Andrews (REVIEW)My Profile

  10. Glad you enjoyed the evolution of Janie, Melanie. Her journey through this series was really fun for me!

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.